

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

ONE OLD STATE CAPITOL PLAZA SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62701 TELEPHONE: 217.785.5030 FACSIMILE: 217.523.9792

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE APRIL 2011

Contact: Ms. Julie Kellner

217-785-5030

Lincoln Academy of Illinois Holds 47th Annual Convocation Honoring Six Outstanding Illinois Leaders

CHAMPAIGN, IL, April 19, 2011 – During a ceremony in Urbana-Champaign on Saturday, April 16, six leaders in Illinois who have excelled in law, business, education, government and social service, became Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois. Each individual received The Order of Lincoln, the state's highest honor for outstanding achievement.

More than 350 guests gathered in the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts at the University of Illinois for the Convocation Ceremony, followed by a cocktail reception and black tie dinner in the Main Dining Hall. Chaired by University of Illinois President-Emeritus Stanley O. Ikenberry and Judith L. Ikenberry and President Michael J. Hogan and Virginia A. Hogan, the Convocation rotates among Chicago, Springfield and a major academic community every three years.

The next convocation will be held in Springfield, Illinois in April of 2012.

The 2011 Laureates include **Richard Gray** and **Mary Lackritz Gray** who are recognized for their lifelong devotion to culture in Illinois through service, art and philanthropy, **Shahid R. Khan**, a community leader and the president of Flex-N-Gate Corporation, a global automobile components and systems manufacturer headquartered in Urbana, Illinois, **Shirley Madigan**, the voice of artists and the arts through her leadership for over twenty years as Chair of the Illinois Arts Council, **Dawn Clark Netsch** who is Professor Emerita at Northwestern University School of Law and has been a pioneer in education, law and politics for over 60 years, and **Timothy J. Nugent** who founded the first post-secondary disability support service program in the world at the University of Illinois in 1948.

The Convocation will be aired on all nine public television stations throughout the state later in the year through the generosity of the Illinois Broadcasters Foundation and WSIU Public Television.

Past honorees, of whom there have been more than 300, include President Ronald Reagan; Governor James Thompson; the Chicago Bears' Walter Payton; Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks; authors Studs Terkel and Michael Beschloss; business leaders Lester Crown, Norman Bobins and Andrew McKenna; Nobel scientist Leon Lederman; and religious leaders John Buchanan and Joseph Bernardin.

Among the evening's guests were a large gathering of past laureates including; Governor Jim Edgar,

Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall, Rev. Thomas Behrens, Dr. Stanley Ikenberry and Mannie Jackson.

Established in 1964 by the Governor of Illinois to honor Illinois' most distinguished citizens, either by birth or residence, the Lincoln Academy of Illinois is unique among the 50 states. Governor Pat Quinn is the President of the Academy. Each fall at the Old State Capitol in Springfield, the Academy's Student Laureate Program honors senior students for overall excellence from each of the four-year, degree-granting institutions of Illinois and one student representing all of the state's community colleges.

###



Class of 2011 Laureates Shahid R. Khan, Shirley R. Madigan, Dawn Clark Netsch, Timothy J. Nugent, Mary Lackritz Gray and Richard Gray



Laureate Shahid R. Khan of Urbana, Illinois accepts the Order of Lincoln from Chancellor Thomas S. Johnson from Rockford, Illinois and Vice Chancellor Gayl Pyatt of Pinckneyville, Illinois



Laureates Dawn Clark Netsch and Shirley R. Madigan



President-Emeritus Stanley and Mrs. Judy Ikenberry, 2011 Convocation Co-Chairs welcome guests in the receiving line



President Michael and Mrs. Virginia Hogan, 2011 Convocation Co-Chairs

Laureates Dawn Clark Netsch (Chicago) and Timothy J. Nugent (Urbana-Champaign) chat with Past Laureate Governor Jim Edgar (Urbana-Champaign)





Regent and Mrs. Eric Trimble (Rock Island) and University of Illinois Vice Chancellor Richard Wheeler (Urbana-Champaign) at the dinner to honor the Laureates



| Trustee Donald Tracy (Springfield), who will co-chair the 2012 Convocation and Regent Dia Weil (Chicago), who chaired the 2010 Convocation |
|---|
| Our sincere thank you to the News-Gazette, Inc. and WSIU Public Television for allowing us to use their pictures and to L. Brian Stauffer, Darrell Hoemann and his crew of the News-Gazette, Inc. and Jak Tichenor and his crew of WSIU Public television |
| |
| |